Wedding Card Box

Photo courtesy of Villa Parker

Photo courtesy of Villa Parker

This past May my baby sister got married and this crafty mama was excited to help out in any way I could! I offered to make her a card box. Now some of these boxes you can find on Etsy going for $75 dollars if not more, I saw some up to $200!!! Seriously I couldn’t believe how expensive they were so I set out to make her one and did it for under $20! Yay!

 

 

 

 

Supplies Needed:

  • Paper Mache Box Set of Three (I purchased from Joann’s Fabric) – see below
  • Scrapbook Paper – approx. 10 sheets
  • Mod Podge
  • Brush for Mod Podge
  • Ribbon
  • Embellishments such as flowers
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Box Cutter

Paper Mache

First I is cut a slit on the top lid (smallest box) wide enough to drop cards through using a box cutter. Then I cut out the bottom of the top and middle boxes. I also cut out the sections of of the lids of the bottom and middle boxes to allow the cards to fall freely to the bottom. Once that was done I used Mod Podge to cover the boxes with the scrapbook paper. I let this sit for a day to dry. I decorated with ribbon using hot glue to glue the ribbon on in the back. Decorated with flowers. Using Microsoft Word, I printed a sign of the happy couples names and wedding date onto card stock then glued it to the ribbon. I took a few days to complete the project but it turned out very lovely.

20140612-170428-61468011.jpg

20140612-170428-61468820.jpg

20140612-170428-61468459.jpg

Leave a Reply

