Father’s Day Craft

20140611-162202-58922364.jpgFor this Father’s Day I search the depths of Pinterest to find the perfect craft for the kiddos and I to make. I came across several different crafts using the kids handprints so I decided to use my love of decoupage and make a canvas picture for Dad this year! I ran out to one of my favorite stores, Hobby Lobby, and picked up an 8×10 canvas and a few sheets of scrapbook paper.

20140611-161937-58777758.jpg

Items Needed:

  • 8×10 Canvas
  • Scrapbook paper of choice – You’ll need one to cover the canvas and one of each color for each childs hand (smaller hands maybe able to share a sheet)
  • Mod Podge or your choice of decoupage
  • Brush for Mod Podge

20140611-162201-58921971.jpg

I started by taking the sheet of paper that will be the background and trimmed it to fit the size of the canvas. I then covered the canvas with Mod Podge and placed the sheet of paper on top. Make sure to smooth out the sheet to remove any bubbles and excess glue. Next I traced each of my children’s hands on the backside of the paper and cut it out. I found a bible verses and typed it up on the computer and printed it out on paper. I then determined how I wanted to place the hands on the canvas. Once I had my design figured out I applied Mod Podge to the back of each hand and started stacking on the canvas applying the bible verse last. Once all were placed on the canvas, I covered it with a layer of Mod Podge for a nice finish. This will make a cute picture to hang on our wall!

20140611-162202-58922364.jpg

Leave a Reply

